Contact Us at the Wadena County Historical Society

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday 10:00 A.M. – 4:00 P.M.

603 North Jefferson
Wadena, MN 56482

click to view map -opens new window

Interim Executive Director: Lina Belar
Phone: 218-631-9079

If you are having a reunion or some type of event and wish to stop in, be sure and call to see
if arrangements can be made for a guided tour.

WCHS Board Members

All Board Members shall be members of the Society and have the responsibility to establish policy to achieve the goals of the society. The Board meets the second Tuesday of the month and can call special meetings if necessary and all business is conducted in conformity with “Robert’s Rules of Order”. There is no compensation for the members of the board for their services. Board Members are chosen to represent the county. Area Societies on the Board are as follows:

  • > England Prairie Pioneer Club
  • > Menahga Area Historical Society
  • > Old Wadena Society
  • > Sebeka Area Historical Society
  • > Verndale Historical Society
  • > Wadena County Historical Society

With the balance of the twelve maximum board seats consisting of at-large delegates. The president may appoint committees for particular projects until completion of the projects. The president of the Board shall be the chairperson of the board. The Board operates on a fiscal year beginning on January 1 and ending on December 31.


2014 Board of Directors:  Helen Apel, John Crandall, Larry Denny, Elroy Evans, Jim Hofer, Carmen Pederson, Bette Peterson, Elaine Schmitz, Sylvia Tappe, Bob Zosel

John Crandall – WCHS President

Robert S. Zosel – Vice President of the WCHS Board

Elroy Evans – Treasurer of the WCHS Board

Carmen Pederson – WCHS Member at Large

Bette Peterson – WCHS Member at Large

Schmitz-Elaine – WCHS Board-Member